top of page


There are eight components of Yoga. These are:

  1. YAMA,   our attitudes toward our environment.

  2. NIYAMA,   our attitudes toward ourselves.

  3. ASANAS,   the practice of body exercises.

  4. PRANAYAMA,   the practice of breathing exercises.

  5. PRATYAHARA,   the restraint of our senses.

  6. DHARANA,   the ability to direct our minds.

  7. DHYANA,   the ability to develop interactions with what we seek to understand.

  8. SAMADHI,   complete integration with the object to be understood.

There are no set rules or definitive routes. Whatever is the route most suited for the individual to reach the state described in sutra {1.2}  should be followed. They all develop simultaneously as the individual progresses.

bottom of page